Chevron and half Chevron: brief revisit

Due to the work I was doing with the alphabet over the weekend I couldn’t leave the Cheveron and half Chevron stitch alone. Here are some of samples. For some reason I worked primarily with the 100/3 silk and so the work in last three photos has a more delicate, airy look.

This first photo deals with some ideas on borders and couching. I definitely wish I’d pulled out pima cotton threads to work with and done more couching. Perhaps time will come along to try more experiments with that soon.

111108a1

My thoughts were probably drifting to borders due to the reading I’ve been doing on Laura J Perin’s blog Two-Handed Stitcher. She has done or is in the midst of an interesting series of articles about borders and their impact on the overall design. I think the series began here and then you may follow the links (2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th) or just click on the label “borders” at the end of her post and scroll up through the series. Many thanks to Laura for these excellent posts.

111108b   111108c

111108d

After these samples I became fascinated with what I was calling a flat half Chevron stitch until I realized it is more probably a detached variation of the cable stitch or chained cable stitch. That’s what I plan will be in the next post scheduled for Friday (us, west coast).

I’m diligently working on the balance issues from Friday’s post and have about 4 cut and paste version that I’m pleased with. I’m going to see if I can scan or photograph them well enough to put into a post. Many thanks for the feed back and emails on that issue. Every one has been so kind and helpful. It is hard for me to be patient and work with a design in this manner but the rewards of learning more are mounting up.  That keeps me going. Please feel free to leave a comment if you have any suggestions. I’m definitely open to more experiments.

Leave a Reply

