Rivers, roads and rails

I’ve been stitching on a very small piece of fabric something about Vermont where I grew up. Rivers, brooks and ponds are plentiful. Beside the rivers are roads and beside many of the roads are railroad tracks. And tucked away some where will be small village. 

A fabric store is sometimes a delight and at others times a temptation for me. I was walking through one the other day. I couldn’t get by this piece of material. It is a sturdy cream and charcoal check. And I tried a little embroidery on it. 

The sides of the white bordered squares are about one and one-half inches. This charcoal gray has a green cast to it. And the green thread brings that out, although it is not apparent to me in the photo.

The red thread in the next photo makes the charcoal threads look much blacker. And this stitching is on the back of the fabric. I like the backside of the little border as much as the front.

Leave a Reply

