Beading round chicken scratch

I’ve been working with round chicken scratch intermittently since my last post on the subject. Over the weekend I got some more beads for experiments. So I thought I’d show some of the work I’ve been doing. I’m turning the original piece into a pincushion. Nothing has fallen in to place for a good border. I’m still full of experiments but may settle for beading the center of each circle for a contrast.

Here’s the current border that’s in the original piece at the moment. Because of the honeycombed arrangement the circles, the border will not configure the same way vertically as it does horizontally.

I have two kinds of white beads. One is rounded with a hole through the center; the other is like a tiny length cut off a drinking straw. It’s no wild guess that I know little about beads. Here is a side by side comparison. I like the rounded look best for this.

A few more samples.

Saturday I received some of my old embroidery pieces back from a shop that had kept them in their cupboard. It was surprising to look at all that work and compare it to some of the things I’ve been doing recently.

Next scheduled post: Wednesday (us, west coast)

2 Responses to Beading round chicken scratch

  1. Marty52 says:

    I really like the beads with the embroidery… it moves it to the next level. What scale are you working in? It’s hard to tell from the pictures just how big the stitching is. Could you possibly put something in the picture so we know the scale? I keep thinking these are pretty big circles but my hunch is that I am wrong.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Marty, thanks for a great question. This fabric was designed by Michele D’Amore for Marcus Fabrics. There is a ruler with the fabric swatch. Here is the link.

Leave a Reply

