Out and about: Catching leaves

Autumn is around a long corner in the central valley, and all the autumn leaves have been on my mind. Did you ever try catching the colorful autumn tree leaves before they fell to the ground on a breezy day? Growing up, I had so much fun playing outside with the leaves.

On the internet I’ve been catching up with some great leaves as I’ve had a chance to look around a little more in the past week or so. Here are a few posts where I caught a glimpse of some wonderful leaves.

Bookmark at Paddy’s Daughter: Sue

Woven quilt at Come Quilt with Me: Jo

Bargello leaves at Tanglecrafts’ Tangled Thread:  Su
of special note: index of reviewed of needlework books (currently 43)

Leaves in beads at Beading at the Beach: Bobbi

Thank you ladies for sharing your work!

Regular readers may remember a few of my previous posts on the subject of leaves. Leaves have always fascinated me. And when my friend Anne Gailhbaud started talking to me about her leaf sampler early this year I was excited. And then she sent me a sampler of leaves that is beautiful, each leaf is worked in a different type of stitch. If you haven’t checked Anne’s website lately please do. It’s updated with lots of new work from this year.

Raised stitch experiments? On going…

a tree, open chain trunk over the long tie downs of the branch chains and a few detached chains at the top with a few straight stitches at the bottom. 

three converging straight stitches added

overlapped

various threading trials

I’ve had a lot fun with this stitch. There are a few more trials I want to try with it. And I want to do some research on one of the variations. But I don’t think it will be this week.

Next post Wednesday (us, west coast).

5 Responses to Out and about: Catching leaves

  1. anne says:

    I like your tree; recently, I have made one with cast on stitches; this is wonderful; I shall see it on rapid christmas cards in green on red linen……..why not?
    Or with thorne stitches also…
    So many possibilities in a simple thread!!
    Thanks for your kind comment!
    anne
    http://quilt007.free.fr

  2. tenar72 says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    I loved your experiments with this stitch, you did things with it I never thought of. In the past, I have been exploring it either: http://tenar72.wordpress.com/2007/04/05/tast3-detached-chain-stitch/ : Unfortunately, the pic is not very clear and I didn’t post details, but I would love to get back to it and post them if you are interested. This kind of synergy is what I love about online communities. Now I’ll have to find a project I can try Your variations on LOL. Sorry this posts is a bit late, I didn’t have much time for inet for a while.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Tenar,

    I receive an undeliverable message when I try to send you an email so I have posted this response here.

    Thank you very much for stopping by the blog and this comment. I very much like your sampler. I’m interested in how you make the stitches. Could you give me the German name and if possible a stitch dictionary link showing how it is made. I like the thought of using the cross stitch. And one that had not occurred to me.

    Have you ever worked with the raised chain stitch? I couldn’t help but wonder if some of the work on your sampler was also done with this stitch. For instance the area along the left border.

    I will try a few things with these ideas. I understand what you mean about the on-line stitching community, I think. There are so many wonderful stitchers on-line and where I live I know very few. Interaction with others who love stitches is a plus and with a camera or scanner we can share the work so easily.

    Best wishes,
    Elizabeth

  4. tenar72 says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    Yes, I know raised chain stitch, but that border was done differently. I didn’t find that stitch online, I found it in an obscure German stiching brochure. I will post about it in my blog soon.
    Thank you for alerting me to the email problem, I’ll have a look at it.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks, Tenar! I’ll be looking forward to your post.

Leave a Reply

