One more new to me stitch

I am leaving the doodle from yesterday’s post out there one more day with its unintroduced stitch. The stitch I learned tonight is taking up this post instead. It caught my eye went I finally took a few minutes to stitch late this evening. This stitch is the Portuguese border stitch.

I wasn’t able to find this stitch on the few sites that I have listed on my stitch dictionary page. Although it might be at Needlecrafters; I’m still not able to access that stitch dictionary. I’m still hopeful it will be available soon or that my browser will stop giving me problems with the site. 

Thankfully, doing a quick search on the net, I did find a great step by step at Arts & Designs. A site I don’t remember visiting before. Please scroll down until you find the stitch’s name and click on the illustration. It will open up a pop-up box where everything is very clear; you may have to click the expand icon to see the whole picture at once. Their stitch glossary page is here. It looks like I need to add this link to my stitch dictionary page this weekend. I wish I’d seen it sooner it might have spared me a few step-by-steps.

Here are a few samples.

pb1a.png

pb1b.png

pb1c.png

pb1e.png  Worked in opposite directions

pb1f.png  Worked in combination with a sorbello stitch variation. And in the sample below the sorbello stitch is used instead of the satin stitches to start the Portuguese border stitch. I am almost too tired to have fun with this stitch but I hope it will do well with circles and curves. I’ve not had time to try any yet.

pb1g.png

One Response to One more new to me stitch

  1. Deepa says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    Thanks for the link to the new stitch dictionary. Great resource! Wonder how we did not see it for so long.

    By the way, how do you document and store all the samplers you’ve done till date? May be you could do a post on that too

    Deepa

Leave a Reply

