Detached raised chain stitch?

Some of the work I did over the weekend made me think about doing a detached raised chain stitch. I liked the texture and its a very stable stitch. I tried hunting around for what it is and hope I’m not missing something obvious. Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment if you have any question about the step by step or can identify the stitch for me. Thanks very much.

drck1a.png

drck1a1.png

drck1b.png

drck1b1.png

drck1c.png

drck1e.png

drck1end.png

Here are one color samples. As you can see the left sample has slanted stitches while the sample on the left is done as the step by step. The two color samples seem even more effective. Or perhaps I had more practice.

drck1one.png

drck1f.png

drck1slant.png

A dark green overdyed thread is used for the straight stitches in both these samples.

One Response to Detached raised chain stitch?

  1. Christine says:

    I just love how you push the envelope just that little bit more with your stitches. I especially love the little pyramid of detached chains ! I’m just so lazy compared to your excellent efforts, but you do inspire me to try stitching a little more each day.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Hooroo,
    Christine.
    http://missmuffettwo.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

