Sorbello: off grid and on

This is one of the ugliest “off grid” pieces that I’ve done. But it proved useful.

 s9a.png

Why? I took it back “on grid” with the ideas that came up as I freely doodled. These two aspects of working back and forth fascinate me. There are some ideas that just don’t seem to get stitched until I take a stitch “off grid”.

Below are some ideas flowing back into “on grid” samples.

s9b.png

s9c.png

Above there are three straight stitches over four threads on which the various looped portions of the sorbello are stitched.

The samples below make it evident I still don’t have the adjustments on the scanner correct. I’m fiddling with one thing at a time trying to get some improvement.

s9d.png

s9e.png 

One Response to Sorbello: off grid and on

  1. Your off-grid pieces are fantastic! And I love the free-form lacy look of your Sorbello piece!

Leave a Reply

