Eskimo edging stitch: Day 2

These are samples of the Eskimo edging stitch that were in waiting for another post on this subject. In the meantime, I had a question about how to do the stitch. I do the running stitch first and then the loops. I’m not sure what I would do if I was working with one color. I’ll have to wait and see. It might lead to all sorts of new possibilities. Either way there are many more possibilities calling to me since I’ve not tried curves or circles or zig-zags.

I also received a question from Mady at Snow Days regarding the origin of the stitch and its name. This is the information that follows is from a book Embroidery Stitches by Mary Webb. The author wrote about this stitch that it was also know as Eskimo laced edge. She also said, “it is an adaptation of a reversible edging stitch used by Eskimos and Inuit to bind the edges of their sealskin clothing to make it waterproof.” Many thanks to Mady for the question!

I used this at my local library expecting to go and buy it. The main reasons that I changed my mind and will not be purchasing it are that I found no footnotes or bibliography and the step-by-step of the stitches in many cases seem insufficient to me. Probably I’m more selective than many about such things since I already have a number of stitch books and a book must be a stand out for me to add it to the collection. If any one has a different impression of this book please don’t hesitate to leave a comment. I just hate to write this without someone having a chance to give a better opinion, if they have found it useful.
ees2line7.pngees2line12.png

ees2line34.png

ees2line56.png

3 Responses to Eskimo edging stitch: Day 2

  1. AS I like your embroidered tests? I named your blog among my 10 favorite blogs.
    I thank you very much to do your blog !
    kind regards from lettle Brittany (west of France)

  2. […] Jump to Comments Elizabeth at Quieter Moments has posted some samples of Eskimo edging stitch.  This was a new stitch to me.  It is […]

  3. Mara says:

    Elizabeth, talking of Inuit, have you heard about the exhibition of native textiles currently at the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian in DC? I was there last month and had a quick look – unfortunately I didn’t have enough time to see if properly. The museum exhibit was breathtaking. They also had a wonderful book to accompany the exhibition. There’s a lot of information and photos at this link if you click on “Identity by Design”. Extremely interesting.
    http://www.nmai.si.edu/
    Cheers, Mara (in Beijing)

Leave a Reply

