Sorbello variations

The sorbello stitch has been fun to explore. Here are some of the strictly school girl samples I’ve been doing with the variations from the last couple of step by step posts. I know that it must be hard for anyone else to see why I’m so excited about these stitches. Part of it is because I’m stitching beyond what I’m posting.

Nevertheless here are the samples. This first one is not the best stitching as I’m just learning how to work with the silks Paula so kindly sent me. In the sample below on the left is the sorbello without the variation; on the right, with the variation in the second step-by-step variation.

s4overhorizcomp.png

Silk and then pima cotton–a variation on the first step-by-step variation. This time I put the stitch in an exact square. I’ve heard that the sorbello was sometimes a substitute for the cross stitch. It certainly provides an interesting coverage.

s4undhorizline45.png

More samples of variation on the first variation.

s4undhorizline3.png

s4undhorizline21.png

s4undhorizline1.png

Variations on step-by-step variation 2.

s4overhorizline1.png

s4overhorizline3.png

s4overhorizline2.png

Leave a Reply

