More on the berry stitch and chain

Today’s post is a mix of samples using the berry stitch and the berry chain idea. As SharonB‘s TSTC year is winding up, I’ve been humbled by how even after all the practice with various stitches this one almost got the better of me. Somewhere in the middle of the week I was so tempted to stop despite the fact that the end was almost in sight. It reminded me of when TSTC was just underway and the buttonhole stitch was assigned. I almost quit then. And there were probably a few other times along the way, too. I think in some ways it has been a lesson to prepare me for what is ahead next year.

I didn’t make it through by merely making myself keep taking one stitch after another. That’s one of the great benefits of stitching in the midst of an on-line needlework community. I’d like to thank all of the people who left comments and who were such an encouragement to me in other ways. I hope that I may come by and encourage someone else at such a time.

In the berry stitch samples I was working with curves and circles.

tstc50fradial.png

I think I was in over my head on the next sample. I needed to mark these concentric circles out rather than trying to freehand them.

tstc50fradial2x.png

tstc50fspiral.png

With the berry chain I played around with this idea of alternating between a regular chain and the berry chain stitch. It is a little hard to see clearly in the first photo.

tstc50fformal1.png

I thought I would like to thread the line using this pattern.

tstc50fformal2.png

I then tried some meandering lines and they were fun to do. The last one is perhaps actually backwards since I used the single chain stitch to hold the both loops of the berry stitch. You can see at the right that I started out in the normal fashion, but from there I got twisted up in making it. I kept it, although I certainly didn’t try to thread it.

tstc50fmeandering2.png

tstc50fmeandering.png

2 Responses to More on the berry stitch and chain

  1. jowynn says:

    I’ve just read your last nine posts. Elizabeth. I’ve been so preoccupied with getting my computer restored that I haven’t been reading blogs. There is still a lot of work to do, but today I’ve enjoyed seeing all the fantastic things you’ve done with pistil, Indian edging, and berry chain stitches. What a treat!

  2. Susan says:

    I love seeing all the things you did with this. You really explored it in depth! I absolutely adore the third picture down. It looks like a seashell to me, maybe a chambered nautilus, and I love the way the color switches from one to the other. The last one is very interesting. I’m glad you showed it. Sometimes we do something wrong, but it turns out to be something wonderful. I could see this as a seam embellishment with no difficulty!

Leave a Reply

