Off grid with the knotted cable chain

Before I get into the knotted cable chain stitch samples today, I want to take a moment to mention that I changed a couple of pages yesterday. The “about” page has been transformed into “a word of welcome” page. Since Sharon b has spelled out the 2008 challenge, I decided that it was high time to change that page from “Where is Sharon b blogging these days?” to “Sharon b’s challenges”. If you’ve not read about the challenge for 2008 please do check out that page for links. I’m looking forward to the challenge and hope many will be joining Sharon in it.

If you have any suggestions for making either of these pages more helpful or effective, please don’t hesitate to let me know. Sometimes I’m the last one to notice when I haven’t written clearly or made a mistake, so I appreciate extra sets of eyes taking a look. Thank you.

All my samples for today’s posts are stitched on felt. And I worked on some curves and circles.

tstc48bdewdrop.png I marked out a circle for these detached knotted cable chain stitches. Before I could get the four stitches done the markings were gone. The poor thing is decidedly lopsided.

tstc48bflight.png This was the first attempt at stitching the curves.

tstc48bflower.png In the lime green thread I’ve done a double loop in the chain. I will take that idea “on grid” for some more trials.

Below are some closely stitched lines. I would like to try beading these before the week is out. And, yes, the bead store was open today!

tstc48blayers.png

tstc48bsprig.png A straight knotted cable chain using detached stitches to simulate alternating leaves.

One Response to Off grid with the knotted cable chain

  1. neki rivera says:

    on felt, how interesting! The paisley one on top is great and the curvy too.

    neki desu

Leave a Reply

