TSTC Week 44: Zig zag Spanish knotted stitch

This week SharonB has assigned the zig zag Spanish knotted stitch for exploration. Since Sharon posted this early I’m sure most visitors here have already read her great step-by-step introduction to the stitch in the TSTC post of October 24. I’ve already seen some very nice work with this stitch up on various blogs as well as in flickr.

I’m off to a slow start on this stitch. It took me a while to get use to it’s rhythm. But once I caught on I found it behaves nicely. All my experiments in today’s post are very straight forward.

My thanks to JoWynn at Parkview 616 for recently mentioning to me the idea of straight stitches as a fills in a chain stitch.

tstc44astrfill.png

Weaving around the knots. This sample has given me the most concern because the woven thread is held by the knot. I need to find a better way to make everything hold together and increase the stability. But I love the way it looks and don’t want to compromise that either.

tstc44aricracweave.png

Here is another sample of weaving and this one is very stable. I wove extra threads between the loops of the Spanish knotted stitch.

tstc44a2lineswoven.png

Couching three threads placed side by side.

tstc44a3linesunder.png

I sharpen the angles of the zig zags in this sample, then I wrapped the lime green thread and added the one loop drizzle stitches.

tstc44aricracdots.png

One Response to TSTC Week 44: Zig zag Spanish knotted stitch

  1. Marty52 says:

    I love the couching and lacing on these stitches. You pick such great colors!

Leave a Reply

