This and that plus more drizzle stitches

Out and about I’ve  seen so many great things and been rushing by for the most part because my schedule is so overloaded these days. My postings are still erratic and I thought things would be calmer by yesterday. It’s making me treasure those quieter moments I have had when I can just stitch to my heart’s content and think more about what I’m doing.

I’ll just say a quick word or two to direct you over to Neki’s blog, if I may and you haven’t seen it already. She has recently posted a great two part tutorial on kanoko shibori here and here. If you’re not familiar with her blog A Moveable Feast, please do take a few extra minutes to look around. There are other tutorials and Neki has many interesting posts. I learn when I visit.

Now to turn a corner, my experiments with the drizzle stitch are on-going. I did some unexpected things and some that I’d wanted to try as a result of previous stitching.

The unexpected happened because I was thinking, how can I couch a thread with the drizzle stitch? As you can see I had various thoughts about it.

tstc43cfullcircleloop2.png

My next unexpected thought concerned the two threads cast on together. I think Jenny at Reading and Stitching in Il with her comment on my blog yesterday might have started me thinking more seriously about how this drizzle stitch is like both stitching and knitting. In knitting a thread may be carried so as I cast on with two threads I carried one from time to time.

Jenny, many thanks for your visit to the blog and especially for your comment. I think it inspired me on to better work with this stitch as I reflected on knitting.

I should also say a word of thanks to the many visitors who are stopping by. Thank you for bearing with me during these strange, pressured-schedule days. I think…I hope…I barely dare to say it…but things are about back to normal now.

Now back to the picture.

tstc43c2then1castprof.png

Perhaps you can see on the left that I stopped casting on the pink thread once I’d worked the drizzle stitch a few loops and cast on only the green then switched to the pink and ended the stitch. This or something similar is done through out this group of drizzle stitches. I’ll try to get a better picture tomorrow. It’s just to late in my day for enough natural lighting now.

Then I thought of combining this idea with the loops above. The first photograph is top down and the second a profile.
tstc43chalfcircleloops.png

tstc43chalfcircleprof.png

Now my only thoughts are to try beading the loops or cutting the loops to have tassels. Oh, I should also try beaded tassels. Perhaps those thoughts will be illustrated in tomorrow’s post.

The expected things. The first was the trial using smaller beads with a Perle 12. It did improve  things. The beads on the drizzle stitch to the left are placed on the thread; to the right, on the needle.

tstc43csmallbeadsprof.png

The second expected thing is my flower. It seems I always try something floral with every stitch.
tstc43cflower.png

I’ll try for some better photographs tomorrow on these since the better shot angles were blurred in what I did today.

4 Responses to This and that plus more drizzle stitches

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Anne from France asked me how I made the loops in the first photograph. I emailed her about it but thought others might have the same question.

    I will try to answer your question in words about the loops in the first picture. I used a variety of ways to make loops. I was experimenting and just trying all the options I could think of. First, I took one thread to do the drizzle stitch. I took a second thread to do the loop. While I made the cast on stitches for the drizzle stitch, I was catching in the second thread beside the needle in the loops. When I pulled the needle through the cast on stitches, I went to a nearby spot and went up through the fabric with the first thread to make another drizzle stitch. I threaded the second thread for the loop on a needle and then pulled it through the fabric right beside the place I’d just come up with the first thread for the second drizzle stitch. In the second thread I didn’t pull it tight but left enough slack to make a nice loop and held it beside the needle as I made the loops of the second drizzle stitch with the first thread. Then the process is rather repeated until you have as many loops as you want.

    In some of the other loops I tried more than one thread as a second thread and worked them together as mentioned above all in one group. This is a little harder to see because the thread I used is overdyed and since the color changes are hidden in some spots it might not appear to be the same thread.

    Also I tried looping the second thread(s) and doing the drizzle stitch over the pre-looped thread. I don’t think I tried any other experiments in the first photograph.

    The reason there looks to be a greater variety in the first picture is because some times I only made a few loops in the drizzle stitch at other times more. This changed the appearance, I think.

    The loops in the third photograph are created by not pulling the threads in the drizzle stitch all the way through the stitch.

  2. neki rivera says:

    i knew it!
    under that collected exterior there’s a wild stitcher lurking underneath :) :)
    those loops are fantastic!! i want to do something with them.

    neki desu

  3. neki rivera says:

    part 2
    i got soo carried away by those loops that i forgot my manners. thanks for the link,

    neki desu

  4. Jenny says:

    The loops are fantastic! After I posted that comment, I actually did some stitching. You can see my first piece for the creative embroidery class on my blog.

Leave a Reply

