Out and about; a double crested chain stitch?

Out and about

Wecome! Thank you for visiting. I’m using this section for the next four weeks as a word of welcome to those who are new readers of my blog or new to the on-line needlework community. I keep a blogroll that I think point to some major needlework areas and from there help acquaint you with other blogs in special areas of interest to you. I need to expand this a bit more. New additions are coming but I tend to work slowly on this project. If you click on the category “blogs” you will find those that I’ve highlighted in the past.

“Out and about” is a way to highlight blog articles that I read during the week and thought noteworthy. They are not necessarily from any one involved in Sharon b’s TSTC but may be of interest to stitchers.

Lynne at Faffing About had an article with a photo of a great piece using the TaST long and short stitch. Her article mentioned something I related to instantly–courage in needlework. Thanks Lynne, you put some of my very thoughts into words!

Ann at Taoknitter posted an illustrated article on Irish dance hand embroidery. Thank you for investigating and displaying this hand embroidery work, Ann!

Karren K. Brito at Entwinements did an short, interesting post on the red dye of the safflower. I loved following the links and learning more. Many thanks, Karren!

Double crested chain stitch?

I tried this experiment on Monday (USA) evening when Sharon b had just posted the TaST stitch of the week. And dropped it because I couldn’t figure out how to do it. Over the weekend, the idea came back to me and I tried again. It only requires a very simple step to prepare the thread to make the second crest on the opposite side.

tstc32fmidstep-for-double.png

The needle is slipped under the far side of the chain instead of being inserted into the fabric to make the next chain stitch. The crest is then completed as normal and the second chain is then made. I hope that if you’re interested in trying this that these directions are a help. If you have any question please feel free to ask. I would be happy to try to try and clear it up with more photos or some other words to explain it better.

Here are some of the trials.

tstc32fdourow4.png Pima cotton

tstc32fdouhorzrow3.png

Three strands of floss above; more pima cotton below.

tstc32fdourow1.png tstc32fdourow2.png tstc32fdousquare.png

Sometimes I get sidetracked on something like this and wonder how useful it may be since this is not a very stable stitch in itself. However, I still want to see how it will do on curves, in couching. I’m full of curiosity if I can put two crests on one side. I just have to laugh at myself, shake my head and ask why do I want to push a capable little stitch like the crested chain to the maximum I can dream up?

Back to normal crested chains.

tstc32foffgrid.png

Leave a Reply

