TSTC Week 30: Buttonhole wheels

This week bring us to the thirtieth week of Sharon b‘s TSTC. At it’s conclusion, if my calculations are correct, we will have twenty-two weeks of the challenge remaining. It’s been an amazing journey so far. I don’t know what the remaining twenty-two stitches will be. But Sharon has named the thirtieth stitch; it is a buttonhole wheel stitch.

I’ve already been having fun with it. Sharon wrote a wonderful introduction. Her work with this stitch has always been a standout for me. When I first got acquainted with her blog during “a 100 details for 100 days” last year, I was totally fascinated by what she was doing with this stitch. And there were many other crazy quilter’s stitching along with her and using buttonhole wheels to great advantage on their seams.

All I can do with this stitch is to start to follow along behind them. Here is what I stitched yesterday.

tstc30abluequarterfans.png

tstc30abluequarterfans2.png

tstc30ahalfircle1.png

tstc30ahalfircle2.png

tstc30ahalfircle3.png

tstc30afullcirclesscrunch.png

2 Responses to TSTC Week 30: Buttonhole wheels

  1. MadyH says:

    5th picture down – I like the idea of lacing between the two rows (or is it couched?)

    All your stitching variations would make a wonderful needlework book.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Mady,

    Thank you for visiting my blog and your kind comment. As to the question, I did the two rows of buttonhole stitches just as the photgraphed progression shows. The thick pink thread was threaded under the top row only. I was making this up as I stitched along. It could easily be couched.

Leave a Reply

