Slivers and slices

This week I began following Sharon b’s suggestion to do French knots in conjunction with previous TSTC stitches. I’ve been taking it in the direction of a slivers and slices review of the TSTC stitches. Today is week 5-8. And sadly they are sporting some pretty poor French knots. I experimented with a number of threads in these samples. I found it was much easier for me to do French knots with something like a Perle 8 or thicker than with something thinner like a Perle 12 or 100/3. Will my practice ever make perfect when it comes to these stitches? No, I don’t think so, but I’ll reaccess the question when I’ve made it through TSTC week 24.

Week 5 Chevron stitch

tstc24bc.png

Week 6 Algerian eye and eyelet stitches

tstc24bae.png

Week 7 Feather stitch

tstc24bf.png

Week 8 Fly stitch

tstc24bfly.png

More French knots–if you’re wondering what this section is, it is for experiments with my variation from last week. I like it more as I work with it. It seems clean, fast and has a lot of play in it. I’m learning more about it and had fun testing it on curves last night. Photos to follow. Please do let me know by a comment, if you know what this variation is. Thank you!

tstc24bwe.png

A word of thanks winging it’s way to Kay Susan for her blog flog.

One Response to Slivers and slices

  1. Kay Susan says:

    I know what you mean about the knots – I did some last night and they kept going through to the wrong side of the work – and when the thread kinks and knots halfway you have definitely had it!

Leave a Reply

