Blogs and Wandering a field

Blogs

As a word of welcome to newcomers and to help you get acquainted with other needlework and textile blogs, I’m mentioning one or two that I enjoy each week. I’ve been regularly stopping by Kay Susan’s blog, Smockery since I took one of Sharon b’s classes at Joggles last fall. I’m sure most of my regular readers are already familiar with Kay Susan’s blog, but if not please do check it out.

As I write this she has just done a beautifully illustrated post on satin stitches. She makes many of the fabrics that she stitches on. One of my recent favorites is here. She has a good variety projects that keep me fascinated. And I’m always smiling when I head over to visit her blog because she has a nice sense of humor that shows up in many of her posts. If you want an overview of her work, she has a flickr account. Not too long ago, she got started making some adorable dolls for her grandchildren and is now experimenting with more. Thank you for a wonderful blog, Kay Susan!

Wandering a field

We use to have an expression, maybe it was a Vermonterism, “wandering far a field”. I’m not going too far from wheatears but I wandered over into this variation or some other stitch that I don’t know or remember, yet. Please feel free to enlighten me by leaving a comment and I will correct everything accordingly.

tightened down

This is perfectly nice as a stand alone. And when I posted this the other day, I conveniently didn’t indicate where the next stitch would start. I had some fun with this aspect and many others over the weekend. My mind is just flooded with more things to do with this variation.

Side by side

Playing with the size of the chain stitch. The first one is a double chain.

alternating direction

back to back and single line

End to end

Please, skip this paragraph about the numbers below and just look at the photo, if you’re not into counted thread. Maybe even if you are! This just isn’t as helpful as I anticipated. The first number indicates of number of threads under the straight stitches where the chain stitch starts (Some time this is a negative number because the end to end is started above where the straight stitches end.). The second number is the height of the straight stitches in number of threads. The third number represents the number of threads the straight stitches move away from the center. Second and third numbers are repeated for multiple prong variations.

more experiments — btw, the fabric is not stained, I merely had problems photographing and adjusting for this fabric. Unfortunately, no time to wait for good light and retake the picture. Finding a solution for my lighting problems is still on my “do” list!

9 Responses to Blogs and Wandering a field

  1. Marty52 says:

    Very nice, Elizabeth! It makes a nice compact stitch that could be used for many things. Lovely!

  2. sharonb says:

    Gosh I like this variety- I have not seen it before – I think you have done it again and I am going to start including it in my crazy quilting! Wonderful

  3. […] she has come up with a variation of wheatear stitch that I have not seen. Take a look at her sample half way down on this post. If anyone has this stitch documented or if they have it documented as a variation of arrow stitch […]

  4. neki rivera says:

    i had given up on this stitch, but after looking at these samples i’ll go back to it.

    thanks for the inspiration .

    neki desu

  5. Andrea says:

    COOL – 3 corner jacks! LOL
    (well – that is what the first couple example remind me of ;-)
    I like this variation … now I want to go and play with it … but I have other things i have do do before I can do that … sigh …
    (I only had a quick play with wheatear, and have not taken a photo or posted about it yet – I fiddled with extra prongs and long prongs but didn’t think of making 3 corner jacks … lol)

  6. Helen says:

    I have an old book from the 1940s? – Practical Home Needlecraft In Pictures – by Dorothy M. Cox – published by Odhams Press. It has a stitch that looks like an upside-down version of your variation of wheatear that is called Tete de Boeuf stitch. There is another stitch that looks almost identical that is a single chain worked over an arrowhead stitch. Hope this may be of some help. Let me know if you’d like me to send you a scan of them.
    I do love all your variations. They’d all look great on CQ.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve asked Helen for a scan of the the single chain worked over the arrowhead. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to find an identification on this! I’ll be posting more information about this as soon as I know about it.

    I’d already looked at Tete de Boeuf. Because it is made differently, I don’t consider it a match. But this single chain worked over the arrowhead sounds just like what I’ve been looking for.

  8. crazyqstitcher says:

    Your variations of Wheatstitch are fantastic. I will enjoy trying them. Thank you for sharing.
    Maureen

  9. […] she has come up with a variation of wheatear stitch that I have not seen. Take a look at her sample half way down on this post. If anyone has this stitch documented or if they have it documented as a variation of arrow stitch […]

Leave a Reply

