Grids and more

I hated my off grid work wheatear work, so I’m on grids again. Here are a few of them.

I kept this next one a little bigger than it deserves for the sake of showing the details. Not a very stable a design, but I had pity on it and didn’t throw it away.

Oops, I’m not sure what happened to those first two French knots on the left!

Here is my extreme turn on the straight stitches. I’m not sure if I’ve wandered out of wheatears into something else. Please don’t hesitate to let me know, if I have. I’ll amend the post accordingly.

Pulled and tightened down.

The next couple photos show some use I made of this. In the first making a straight bottom (Note, the stitches in brown under the green straight stitches are worked like normal wheatears just slanted in towards each other by twos.) In the second photo is the start of a border up and down the six straight stitches. All stitches there are using the principal shown above.

4 Responses to Grids and more

  1. tenar72 says:

    Well, I haven’t seen your extreme weat ear anywhere before, so I guess it’s save to label it as weat ear variant. It looks good and I’m going to use it when I finally get started on my weatear piece! Thanks for posting your stuff, it’s always helpful.

    Tenar

  2. Nancilyn says:

    I love your last treatment with the lop petal flowers. I will definitely want to use this variation. Wait till you see my sample; your technique would have given me the look I wanted with a lot less work and clutter.
    Nothing like your wheat ear versions, but have you looked at a stitch called
    tete de boeuf aka bull’s head?

  3. Suzi says:

    Some great inspiration as always, I love the bottom one – it looks like a face!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I found a link for the stitch that Nancilyn mentions at Classic Stitches (link below). Thanks so much, Nancilyn! A great stitch.
    link for Classic Stitches

Leave a Reply

