Off grid to on grid transfer

Here’s what has happened to my “off grid” work with the Basque stitch.

tstc119doffgrid.png

I’m a little worried about how the blue thread will fit in. But I got started at the mid right and found no place to stop until I’d stitched nearly around the bottom. This made me realize how little I’d really experimented with the angle of the Basque.

So I went back to “on grid” work

tstc119dflatinfrontborder.png

stitched in front of loop’s beginning after doing the tie down

tstc119dflatbehindborder.png

stitched behind the loop’s beginning after doing the tie down

And then the flattest with a tie down of six horizontal threads. I love the texture here. A really strong line.

tstc119dflatdown.png

I always am amazed how a week can start with a few ideas. And as the week moves along I keep finding out how much “scope for imagination” there is in a stitch.

The last “off grid” idea that I translated to an “on grid” trial is concerning the tie down length only. On the first section the tie down is three threads vertically, on the last section, three at forty-five degrees. My favorite is the last section.

tstc119dvborder.png

2 Responses to Off grid to on grid transfer

  1. Corina says:

    Your off grid work is impressive, you are like an artist modeling the stitches!

  2. JoWynn Johns says:

    I am constantly amazed by the ideas you come up with. It’s a great pleasure to see your experiments.

Leave a Reply

