Revisiting and reworking

I wanted to add a bit more to work on the oyster stitch. This stitch is amazing me and frustrating me! I’ve been making sketches of what I want to do with it. But stitching them keeps surfacing problems. I’ve been ripping or abandoning about half of what I’ve been stitching. I keep wanting to try more options and stitch more of my sketches. Some times I laugh at myself, why do I keep going when I keep failing? I’m like a little one who keeps trying to walk no matter how many bumps!

tstc15eorangegolddiamond.png

To continue overcoming curves and circles I stitched two more attempts. In the first I abandon all hopes of a laurel wreath and just added two flowers. Two more problems surfaced: flower centers and centering of the right flower in the curve.

tstc15etwoflowers.png

I’ve been whip stitching and making small loops to bring greater control to the thread between the oyster stitches.

a spiral couching some radiating lines

tstc15eorangespiral.png

And then with the purpose of improving ideas from previous days–these re-dos. In the first the ribbon is still showing, but it’s looking better. As previously evident, I did find smaller beads; the results are in the second.

tstc15eleafcouching.png tstc15ebeadsandpearls.png

3 Responses to Revisiting and reworking

  1. Sharon b says:

    I like the combination with beads – they are great

  2. Doreen says:

    I love your samples Elizabeth

  3. Annie W says:

    I love what you are doing with the TAST Stitches, The beads between the oyster Stitches work really well

Leave a Reply

