Not all experiments turn out well

Generally, I’m pretty happy with my experiments even finding out something does not work well is good to know. But it does mean I don’t have much to post. So here are a few things that are passable on a stitch series that I started to work with a few days ago.

tstc9aline2.png

I tried condensing it to over ones.

tstc9bflower1.png

I tried separating it and angling it. tstc9bflower2.png

I tried using the largest stitch in the series all by itself in a line. And then broke the rule about always crossing stitches the same way.

tstc9bover2sameopposite.png

Next embellishment for same direction crosses.

tstc9bover2sameembellished.png

(I still have a long ways to go in learning how to attach beads. I put one thread through all three. If anyone has suggestions for making them lie flatter, please leave a comment and let me know. Thanks!)

Then I varied the stitch a little more over three on the higher leg of the cross, over two on the lower. And you will notice alternately crossed does produce a different pattern.

tstc9bover2and3opposite.png

Made a fill and added in a purple fly stitch and straight stitch. Honestly, I don’t know where the red came from. Perhaps, I should have tried red eye removal feature in editor!

tstc9bover2and3oppositefill.png

Update: Marty left me great directions on how to attach beads. I tried it when I got home from work. The beads are now laying down nicely. Many thanks, Marty!

2 Responses to Not all experiments turn out well

  1. Marty52 says:

    Lovely variations, Elizabeth. With the beads, after running one thread thru all three, come back up (if there is room) thru the center bead only and then back down. Don’t cinch it down too hard ’cause it may look funny. If you can’t use the embroidery thread, try a bit of beading thread instead. Or… just live with it cause it kinda reminds me of peas in a pod! ;0)

  2. JoWynn Johns says:

    For some reason, my bloglines has not been picking up your feed, so I have been missing your experiments. Alerted by Sharon, I came here today and was blown away by your work. I’ll be spending a lot of time studying your experiments. What fun!

    JoWynn

Leave a Reply

