Cretan stitch explorations

I’ve been thinking and stitching! What is the Cretan stitch? To me it seems like a buttonhole stitch with the rule that every stitch must go in the opposite direction to the one just completed. Then I think perhaps it it a feather stitch of some kind.

My card reader is working again, I fiddled and fiddled with it yesterday. I don’t know which “fiddle” or combination of “fiddles” got it going again. But I’m so thankful it works!

So this is a rather strange collection of things I’ve been doing the past couple of days. I did keep a few of my very crazy attempts at circles, I had a good time trying and laughing over them. Perhaps today, I will catch the proper idea and it will trickle down into my execution of them.

tstc4acirclea.pngtstc4acircleb.png

Then I got carried away with the texture in diamonds. I’m not sure how well it comes across in the pictures. But I had to try it with every thread readily at hand that could go through the linen. And the backs are beautiful, too. I wouldn’t be ashamed to use this on a table linen or something where the back side would be readily visible. I think the ends could be buried in the front side or run along on the back as a purposeful “couched” look.

tstc4adiamonds.pngtstc4adiamondsr.pngtstc4adiamondsp.pngtstc4adiamondsrb.png

Then I tried a few linear things, too. But so far I’ve only got one photo that cleared the editing ok.

tstc4alinearc.png

This last one is from last week’s detached chain stitch. And I see I forgot to edit one of the pictures so perhaps I will try to put that up soon. But it looks just like the green and purple line with a mirror image, or in other words, like a full flower. I did that with a blue Perle 8 instead of the Perle 5s in this picture. I tried it with 100/3 thread but that didn’t work out well. I think 100/3 doesn’t hold it’s shape well enough to be effective.

tstc4alinearb.png

3 Responses to Cretan stitch explorations

  1. ElizabethD says:

    love those diamonds–all of them! you really achieve so much with the texture.

    i’m working in circles, too, for Cretan stitch, but characteristically very slowly. at some point i want to try some of the wonderful ideas you’ve come up with.

  2. Kay Susan says:

    Those diamonds are great. I have real trouble with circles in cretan stitch, it just seems to spider away, even if I mark out the circle first.

  3. neki says:

    the diamonds are really cool. i like what you’ve done with the stitch.

    neki desu

Leave a Reply

