The buttonhole bit by bit

tstc2bacross.pngtstc2bfeather.pngtstc2bflower.pngtstc2bleaf.pngtstc2bstaggard.png

Here are some odd bits and pieces with the buttonhole stitch. I tried another flower this time looping the thread over the spokes of the wagon wheel buttonhole stitch. And I tried another type of buttonhole leaf there, too. The first picture shows some buttonholes directly opposite each other and worked in the same hole. I liked this and the back looks great here, very neat. The others things are all self-explanatory. I still have a lot of experiments to try! I’ve been doing some more reading and finding a number of things that look interesting.

4 Responses to The buttonhole bit by bit

  1. ElizabethD says:

    Your stitching is beautiful, and I love your buttonhole experiments, particularly your “sheaf” variation earlier and the blue flower here. This week I’ve been attempting flowers too and a leaf or two–seeing a skilled approach teaches me so much! Not to mention how much fun it is to look at your work.
    I have truly enjoyed reading all your posts about the buttonhole stitch, perhaps most especially your first post about your initial reaction to that stitch. Your close-up view of the way you work and evaluate your samples couldn’t be more helpful or interesting. Many thanks.

  2. alice m says:

    I like your flowers and leaves. Did you use the same “filling” method for both flowers? I’ve been scrolling up and down trying to work it out!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve thanked Alice for this question since I did use two different “filling” methods for the flowers. And I’ve put this answer in a comment because I think it may be of interest to others as well.

    The first post shows a woven wagon wheel buttonhole stitch. See SharonBs dictionary for this stitch using a spider’s wheel as the base. It explains the principle of weaving the thread through the spokes. And just as she mentions about the spider wheel the wagon wheel buttonhole must have an odd number of spokes–5, 7 or so forth. For myself as a general rule, the larger the flower I plan, the more spokes I use.

    This post shows a whipped wagon wheel buttonhole stitch. See SharonBs dictionary for this stitch done again using the spider’s wheel as the base. This method does not require an odd number of spokes, even or odd, both work out fine. You may think that it doesn’t look like the results Sharon is showing. Part of this is the camera but the major part is the type of thread and number of spokes I used. The thread was about a Perle 8 and springy. I used approximately 13 spokes. If I’d used less spokes, probably you would see a more characteristic whipped look to this flower. “In person” the differences between the whipped and woven flower stand out more than I’m capturing with the camera. Also on the whipped flower I did not fill up to the edge as much as I could have because I liked the little lacy edge I was getting; I stopped to let that show up.

    I don’t know why it came into my mind to try this, but personally, I did like it and will use it again. To my mind it produced a more lacy and finished outer edge to the flower than I usually get when I use the spider’s wheel. Now, that may only be a reflection of my lack of skill with that stitch! When I need a more angled or less finished look, I be back using the spider’s wheel and hopefully perfecting my skills with it a bit more in the process.

    Oh, I forgot one other tip, you may think I’m a very crazy lady and I hope I don’t add confusion here! But because I knew I wanted to make a center in these flowers and the thread was so full and springy, I did move the center of the buttonhole from one to four holes doing a quarter of the wheel out of one hole and moving up or across one thread for a hole to work each subsequent quarter from. (In other words the center is made up of and worked from, two adjoining holes and two adjoining holes directly beneath those.) Even with that the centers didn’t hide enough in the middle of the flower for my taste but it sure helped and this technique allows for a larger center.I could have enlarged that area by making the holes I used for the center farther apart. Doing this would have made the center more of a focal point. And for some flowers that would also be more realistic.

  4. Crazypatch says:

    Your stitching for “take a stich tuesday” is gorgeous. I not speak very well english. but I want you say “I like your experiments ”
    Hi of France
    Marie Christine

Leave a Reply

