A few more buttonholes

tstc2aflower.png

Here I did a buttonhole wheel and then filled it in with some rayon thread, courtesy of Shay. Thanks, Shay! The leaves are buttonholes, too. And then to pull them out a bit I added a tie down stitch. Oh, yes, and a straight stitch down the middle of the larger two leaves.

tstc2asheaf.pngtstc2aberwick.png

In the second picture, I was playing around varying the length of the buttonhole stitches. Then it popped in to my mind to try gathering them. The blue work is something with a little knot in it. I’m not sure if this is a correct stitch or not. I abandoned it because my tension was not good. But I’m happy to have a few minutes to try something new.

3 Responses to A few more buttonholes

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love that flower, and the yellow gathered buttonhole. It looks like bunches of wheat.

  2. […] Row…The first part of this seam is from one of Elizabeth’s tast experiments, I was having trouble with the tension and thought of another way to get a similar effect, I did 2 […]

  3. Susan says:

    I missed this one last year, but thanks to Annie, I found it now. I love what you did with the leaves!

Leave a Reply

